Membership Levels

When you create a membership level, you first have to give a name and description to the level. The name and description will be displayed to your members on your membership forms.

Membership Level Settings

You will see the following settings below the name and description:

  • Allow signup for this membership level from website

    If this setting is disabled, only the administrator can assign this membership level to the member. This can be used for private membership levels - for example "Board Member", or for grandfathered levels that are no longer offered to new members. When this setting is enabled, this level will appear by default on your membership sign-up form. If it does not appear on your member sign-up form, this would be because you have specified only specific levels should appear for your shortcode/embed code. You will need to replace the shortcode/embed code on your membership sign-up page with a new shortcode/embed code from the appropriate Help page.

  • Allow members to be listed in the directory

    Enabling this will allow the members at this level to be listed in your public members directory. Note that there are other settings that also control whether a member is shown in the directory - whether the member is past due, which folder the member is in, and whether the opt out setting in the member account is set.

  • For expired members restart membership without charging any past-due balance

    If enabled, members who are past due/expired will have their memberships restarted when they renew. For example, if today is Jun 1 and the membership level is annual, and the member expired on Mar 1 - if this setting is enabled, once the member renews, their membership expiration will be Jun 1 next year. If this setting is disabled, then their membership expiration date will be Mar 1 next year - ie. their renewal payment needs to cover the past due period between Mar 1 and Jun 1.

  • Do not pro-rate changes or upgrades to this level, just charge price difference

    If enabled, when members upgrades or downgrades to a different level, they will be charged the price difference. The price difference will be used even if the billing intervals are different (eg. monthly vs. yearly).

    We recommend allowing the system to pro-rate, as this provides the most equitable calculation for your members under all circumstances. If you do enable this setting, note that there will be certain complications. For instance, if the member upgrades 1 day before their membership expires, we would be required to charge the price difference for the upgrade to cover that 1 remaining day of the membership. If you enable fixed anniversary dates under the billing options, you will be able to set a discount period where upgrades are discounted. Without fixed anniversary dates, we will calculate if it is more equitable to restart the membership (ie. lose the remaining value of the current membership) instead of charging the price difference for the remainder of the membership period, if so the membership period will be reset.

  • Allow upgrades/downgrades to...

    Here you can specify which membership levels a member at this level can upgrade or downgrade to. You must click on each level to enable that level as a choice, enabled levels will have a blue background.

  • Notify email ... when a new member signs up

    Here you can specify email addresses to notify when a new member signs up from your website. Note that no notification email is sent when you add a member as an admin. For multiple email addresses, separate each address with a comma (no spaces).

  • Signup button text

    You can customize the text shown on the signup button on your member sign-up form.

  • Welcome email title and content

    This configures the welcome email sent to your members when they sign up from your website. Note that the welcome email is not sent when you add a member as an admin.

Billing Options

Once you have setup the membership level, the next step would be to setup the billing options for the level. This is where you define the prices and payment methods for the level. If no billing options are defined, then the membership level is free. For more details on setting up the billing options, click here.

Renewal Notices

Here you would setup the automatic renewal and past due notices you want to go out to your members. For more information please click here

Actions

If you have created folders, then on this tab you can setup certain folder actions that take place when a new member signs up, when a member renews, and when a member goes past due.

  • On signup add to...

    Use this to place new members in specific folders, for example for members in different chapters, or to a pending folder to evaluate a new members application. We do not recommend using this to create different folders for different membership levels - duplicating membership levels with folders is redundant, and there is no guarantee that the folders would exactly track the membership level. You can always pull up members with a specific membership level by search or at Dashboard > Stats in the Memberships box.

    Note that signup actions do not apply to accounts added by the administrator - those accounts will be added to the current folder the administrator is in.

  • On renewal add to/remove from...

    Use this to add to a folder or move members between folders. For example, you can use this to move accounts to a folder so you can track/execute some follow-up action as the administrator. If you setup a combination of renewal actions that effectively would remove the member from all folders, we will default to adding the account to the "Members" folder so at least 1 record exists.

    Note that renewal actions do not apply to renewals entered by the administrator - the administrator will need to move the accounts manually as needed.

  • Past due actions trigger...

    This setting controls when the past due actions below take place relative to the member's membership expiration date. If this is blank or 0, no past due action will apply.

  • Past due add to/remove from...

    Use this to add or move members between folders, or to delete member accounts completely. If you select to delete members from all folders without adding them to any folder, then the account will be deleted automatically. Note that when you delete an account completely, all accounting/payment information associated with the account will be deleted.

Note that actions take place exactly on the day they are set, they do not apply retroactively. For example the past-due action will not apply to those members whose membership expiration date has already past the day the trigger is set to.

Using Renewal/Past Due Actions To Track Past Due Members

A common temptation is to setup a Past Due folder and use past due actions to move members to that folder once they are past due, with the idea being you can access all your past due members with the folder. However past due and renewal actions are not intended for tracking membership status through folders. Actions do not apply retroactively, and an admin can always move members between folders at anytime. So actions do not guarantee that your folder would perfectly track your past due members.

The best way to look up your past due members is through a report. From Dashboard > Stats, you can pull up all past due members by clicking on the "Accounts past due" line, or go to Dashboard > Membership and click on the Past Due box title for members who went past due within a certain date range.

Past due members automatically lose their directory listing and access to member only tickets or content based on your settings under Organization Settings > Integration > Membership Settings. So you do not have to remove your past due members from the members folder for those reasons.

What Are Renewal/Past Due Actions Useful For?

You can use renewal/past due actions as a way to manage your workflow. For example, if you need to follow up with recently renewed members, copying them into a folder allows you to follow up with the members as a batch. Then after you have completed your follow up, you can remove them from that folder.